BC's First Resort The history of Harrison Hot Springs Resort & SpaSM runs as deep as our famous hot springs. First experienced by members of the Salish First Nations, the soothing effects of our hot springs have drawn people to this area for hundreds of years. Before Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa, as we know it today, the original St. Alice Hotel and Bath House built in 1886 was the first to welcome those from Vancouver seeking an opportunity to benefit from the natural mineral hot springs. Destroyed by fire in 1920, the St. Alice was replaced in 1925 by the existing main hotel building and the Harrison Hotel was born. In these early days, guests traveled from the Pacific coast by riverboat or train and by coach from the nearby Agassiz station. The hotel enjoyed great success, as it was the first 'resort' style destination of its kind in southwestern British Columbia. During the war years of the 1940's, the hotel became a sanitarium for women returning from Europe who had participated in the war effort. Following the war, Harrison Hot Springs Resort was restored to its original purpose, welcoming guests in growing numbers from the entire Pacific Northwest region of the continent. Enjoying increasing popularity through the 1950's and 1960's, the hotel expanded with the addition of the West Tower, West Wing and The Copper Room. In 1988, the East Tower was added, followed by the expansion of the pools to the three outdoor and two indoor mineral pools that our guests enjoy today. Complementing the pools, was the addition of Healing Springs Spa in 2001. Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa continues to welcome guests seeking a rejuvenating and relaxing experience in this spectacular destination. For more area history visit the Agassiz Harrison Museum, which has a large display of photographs and documents.